Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I had the opportunity to meet SuperModel Emily Sandberg during Nashville Fashion Week 2012 which was held this past Spring. She approached me and let me know that she thought I did a good job in the Valentine Valentine and By Smith shows I was in, which coming from her was a HUGE compliment! I decided that she would be the perfect opener to present on my new category called, “Successful Stories From Modelland”. The category basically will highlight the stories of professionals within the fashion industry including:  Fashion Models, Designers and the like and their successful journeys to the Top.

I am very honored to have been able to interview Emily!! When I approached her with the idea, she agreed without hesitation.

Take a look at Emily’s interview and photos (a Vogue Cover WOW!), her story is Divine and is sure to AMAZE!!!

1.   Where are you from?

I was born in Rochester, MN.  I spent my first years modeling in New York and Paris.

2. When did you know you wanted to be a model?

I became a model before I realized that you could do that as a job.  I applied for a modeling school out of curiosity and grasping what I saw as an adventure into a new world I’d never explored.  Once I found out that I could make money modeling, I decided to pursue it for a year before I went to college.

3.   Which agency did you start your career with and what agency are you presently signed with?

I started in Minneapolis with Agency Models and Talent.  A few months later I moved to New York and signed with Next Models.  I’m now represented worldwide by a variety of agents.  My main three are Elite in Los Angeles and Paris, Trump in New York and Fashion in Milan.

4.   Which designers have you modeled for during your career in the industry?

I’ve modeled for them all in some form or other.  Some of my favorite designers to work with have included Marc Jacobs, Christian Lacroix, Donna Karen, Martine Sitbon, Karl Lagerfeld and Dries Van Noten. 

5.   What countries have you been able to travel to while modeling?

I commuted between New York and Paris for most of my career.  And of course London and Milan were frequently visited.  I’ve been fortunate to have traveled the world and experienced different cultures, lifestyles and world views.

6.   Who/what was your inspiration in the fashion/modeling industry?

I kept a journal and relied upon it heavily to keep me sane and sort through my thoughts as I walked through this unknown, to me, world of fashion.  I had never heard of most of the people and designers in fashion. I did eventually find a tribe of supporters that were kind, creative and loyal.  I relied on their support when I needed it.

7.   Most people know that the fashion industry can be extremely cut throat. How did you deal with this aspect of the industry?

I simply kept my head down and didn’t get involved in the politics.  I simply had too much to figure out before I could even begin to grasp the subtle nuances of the politics.  I let my agents handle the cut throat deals and relationships and placed my attention of doing my job and investing in relationships with the talents and visionaries who were in sync with mine.

8.   What do you like most about modeling?

I love the moment when I walk on set and everyone’s attention shifts to capture the magic of an image. For one moment, everyone forgets about themselves and seeks to capture something higher than our imagination.

9.   What is your favorite moment, being a part of the fashion industry?

I have two.  My first was when I was the DKNY girl and Donna Karen had her millennium runway show coincide with the opening of the DKNY store on Madison.  The entire 59th street was blocked off from Central Park to Madison so guests could easily go from the show to the store opening.  The other was when Marc Jacobs named a bag after me.  It’s called the Emily and the colors matched my hair and wedding dress.  I don’t have one but would love to own my namesake.

10. What is your most embarrassing moment while modeling?

Oh, I’ve had many.  My first was when I was offered the opportunity to be the Louis Vuitton campaign girl for the World Cup.  This was before I knew who or what Louis Vuitton was.  I nearly turned it down because I wanted to model clothing instead of luggage and I thought my agents were crazy to be excited for a luggage line. Thankfully, my agents educated me on the brand and got me excited for the opportunity.

11. If not a Professional Fashion Model, what other career path would you have followed?

I’ve always been interested in systems of development.  I probably would have gone into the study of children’s developmental psychology or I did have aspirations of becoming a trial lawyer, following in my father’s footsteps.

12. What advice would you give to young aspiring models?

If it doesn’t happen for you, don’t sweat it.  So much is about having the right look for the right moment.  It’s never personal.  And, if you do make it, surround yourself with people you trust to guide you.  Make sure your advisors aren’t on your payroll; you don’t want their advice to be clouded. 

Also, I would suggest that if modeling is your passion.  Go for it!  Shoot your own photos.  Stage your own shoots with friends.  You never know how that passion will evolve.  Many people in fashion started out as models or wanting to become models and they found other areas in fashion that suited their strengths.  The point is to start where you are and exercise your creative muscles.  Don’t wait for anyone to give you permission to do what you love.

Emily Sandberg is such an awesome person and her journey in the industry is extremely inspiring! Her words are awesome to read, especially for me because it reminds me to Go For It no matter what. I believe in my abilities as a fashion model and my potential to be great! Some people don’t agree with my career choice in choosing to model professionally and some people don’t even think it’s a legitimate career at all. So, for Emily to advise, “Don’t wait for anyone to give you permission to do what you love” is beautiful to me because that is exactly what I needed to hear and plan to do!

Also, I must add, the fact that she has a MARC JACOBS bag named after her is just about the coolest thing I have ever heard! How many people can say they have something named after them, let alone a MARC JACOBS bag?

 I hope you guys enjoyed reading her story just as much as I enjoyed interviewing her. And, I hope that you can take something from her journey. She has definitely moved me to keep pushing toward my dream!

Thank you Emily for allowing me to interview you and for taking the time to answer my questions and share your story with DestinationSuperModel.com! You are Awesome! 🙂

Interested in more about Emily? “Like” Emily on Facebook, Follow her on Twitter, and don’t forget to subscribe to Emily’s fabulous blog at SuperModelblogger.com

The Beautiful Marc Jacobs bag “Emily”